On-Line Activities

IES Virtual EPR Meeting (IVEM)

About the virtual EPR Meeting

Originally an informal intiative by PhD students in EPR spectroscopy around the world, the IES Virtual EPR Meetings offer a forum of scientific exchange among young researchers in the COVID-19 era that has led to a lockdown of research labs in nearly every country. It aims to maintain, strengthen and extend the EPR community around the world – a goal that is desirable also when this public health crisis is over.

How it works

A young researcher presents recent advances in EPR or related fields for about 20 minutes, followed by extensive open discussion.

Usually, the meetings are held on Fridays at 15.00 UTC (8am in California, 11am in Boston, 16.00 in the UK, 17.00 in Berlin/Zurich, 18.00 in Israel, 00.00 in Kyoto, 01.00 in Sydney). In the future, we plan to also hold it at times that are more suitable for researchers in the Asia/Pacific Region.

The meetings are held via Zoom. Please send us an email if you would like to get the invitations (please use an institutional account if possible).

Stay tuned: Follow @EprMeeting and @EPR_ESR on Twitter.

Organization

Coordinator:
Nino Wili, ETH Zurich,

Committee:
Dennis Bücker, University of Konstanz
Annalisa Pierro, BIP Marseille
Shreya Ghosh, University of Pittsburgh
Dr Sonia Chabbra, Max-Planck-Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion
Lizzy Canarie, University of Washington
Jason Sidabras, Max-Planck-Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion
Dr Asif Equbal, UC Santa Barbara

 

Interested to help with organisation? contact Nino.

Do you want to participate?

Interested in speaking at future IVEMs? Contact us with this template Email.

Upcoming Meetings

Date Speaker Title
22.05.2020, 15.00 UTC Athanassios K. Boudalis, Institut de Chimie de Strasbourg Magnetoelectric couplings in spin triangles detected by CW and pulsed EPR under electric fields
29.05.2020, 15.00 UTC JEOL Prize talks tbd
05.06.2020, 15.00 UTC Asif Equbal, UCSB tbd

Past Speakers

Date Speaker Title Video
20.03.2020 Dennis Bücker, Uni Konstanz, @bueckerd Direct Observation of Chain Lengths and Conformations in Oligofluorene Distributions from Controlled Polymerization by DEER N/A
27.03.2020 Angeliki Giannoulis , Weizmann Institute, @agelakiGR Mn(II) EPR studies on Hsp90 (DEER and ENDOR) N/A
03.04.2020 Lizzy Canarie , University of Washington, @LizzyCanarie Predicting Decoherence of Prototypical Molecular Spin Qubits in Frozen Solutions https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.12217772
10.04.2020 Thomas Schmidt , NIH, @ThomasS25307121 Submillisecond freezing and perdeuteration permits cryoprotectant-free Q-band DEER https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.12280163.v1
17.04.2020 Joshua Wort , Uni St. Andrews Optimising Cu(II)-Chelate Labelling at Double-Histidine Motifs for Pulse Dipolar EPR Applications N/A
24.04.2020 Muhammad Abdullah , UMass Amherst, @IamAB90 The Coexistence of Paramagnetic Centers in ATiO3 (A=Sr and Ba) Colloidal Nanocrystals N/A
01.05.2020 Effie Kisgeropoulos , Ohio State University, @effiechristina From Structure to Function: Multifrequency Pulsed EPR Investigations of Assembly Intermediates in Mn/Fe R2lox N/A
08.05.2020, Luis Fábregas Ibáñez ETH Zurich DeerLab – A comprehensive data analysis toolbox for dipolar EPR spectroscopy https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.12279896.v1
15.05.2020 Tufa Assafa UC Santa Cruz Q-Band inversion-filtered RIDME detects a new conformation of the prion protein at high copper concentration N/A
tags: epr ies Uni
Share with friends