Best Paper Award

The IES is pleased to announce the 2024 IES Best Paper Award competition. The IES looks forward to highlighting exciting advances and breakthrough development in the broad area of EPR and ESR. This award will be given to up to 2 publications per year (from April 1st 2023 to May 15th 2024). The first author(s) will be recognized and a monetary prize awarded. This will be $200 per paper. The expectation is that the first author is a young scientist (student or post-doc). Nomination can be made by any ACTIVE IES member (namely – dues must currently be paid) at any level (faculty, early career or student). If self-nomination is made, it can be made only by the first author or the corresponding author.  Nomination by the first author should be accompanied by a letter from the corresponding author explaining the role of the first author. The deadline for the nomination paperwork is May 15th 2024.

The application material that includes the following items should be packed into a single PDF document and emailed to the IES secretary [email protected] .

a. Cover letter not exceeding 1 page with your name, role, and affiliation, full citation of the paper, and explanation as to why this paper represents an exciting advance and breakthrough development in the broad area of EPR and ESR.

b. PDF of the nominated publication.

c. Letter from the corresponding author, collaborator and/or advisor, explaining the role of the nominated first author.



IES Best paper Award, 2022/2023

Best paper award for 2023 goes to Paolo Cleto Bruzzese from the group of Prof. Mario Chiesa at University of Turin, Italy; for the following paper:
Bruzzese, P. C.; Salvadori, E.; Civalleri, B.; Jäger, S.; Hartmann, M.; Pöppl, A.; Chiesa, M. The
Structure of Monomeric Hydroxo-CuII Species in Cu-CHA. A Quantitative Assessment.

J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2022, 144, 13079–13083.

IES Best paper Award, 2021/2022

Best paper award for 2022 goes to Katherine Richardson from Maxie Roessler’s lab at Imperial College London for the following paper:
Katherine H. Richardson, John J. Wright, Mantas Šimėnas, Jacqueline Thiemann, Ana M. Esteves, Gemma McGuire, William K. Myers, John J. L. Morton, Michael Hippler, Marc M. Nowaczyk, Guy T. Hanke & Maxie M. Roessler
Functional basis of electron transport within photosynthetic complex I
Nat. Commun. 2021, 12, 5387

IES Best paper Award, 2020/2021

We are happy to announce that the “IES best paper Award” winners for 2020-21 are:

  • Luis Fábregas Ibáñez  (ETH Zuerich)”DeerLab: a comprehensive software package for analyzing dipolar electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy data”, J. Magn. Reson. 1, 2020 (DOI: 10.5194/mr-1-209-2020).  (additional authors:  Gunnar Jeschke, and Stefan Stoll)
  • Michal Kern (University of Stuttgart)”Hybrid Spintronic Materials from Conducting Polymers with Molecular Quantum Bits”, Adv. Funct. Mater. 31, 2020 (DOI: 10.1002/adfm.202006882).  (additional authors:  Lorenzo Tesi, David Neusser, Nadine Rußegger, Mario Winkler, Alexander Allgaier, Yannic M. Gross, Stefan Bechler, Hannes S. Funk, Li-Te Chang, Jörg Schulze, Sabine Ludwigs, and Joris van Slageren)
  • Nandita Abhankar (University of Maryland, NIST)”Scalable microresonators for room-temperature detection of electron spin resonance from dilute, sub-nanoliter volume solids”, Science Advances 6, 2020 (DOI: 10.1126/sciadv.abb0620 ). (additional authors:  Amit Agrawal, Pragya Shrestha, Russell Maier, Robert D. McMichael,  Jason Campbell, and Veronika Szalai)

IES Best paper Award, 2019/2020

We are happy to announce that the “IES best paper Award” winners for 2019-20 are:

  • Dr. Fei Kong from University of Science and Technology of China, for the paper “Kilohertz electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy of single nitrogen centers at zero magnetic field”,  Science Advances  27 May 2020 Vol. 6, no. 22, eaaz8244  (additional authors Pengju Zhao, PeiYu, Zhuoyang Qin, Zhehua Huang, Zhecheng Wang, Mengqi Wang, Fazhan Shi, and Jiangfeng Du)
  • Dr. Jason W. Sidabras from MPI Mulheim, for the paper ““Extending electron paramagnetic resonance to nanoliter volume protein single crystals using a self-resonant microhelix”, Science Advances 04 Oct 2019: Vol. 5, no. 10, eaay1394 (additional authors Jifu Duan, Martin Winkler, Thomas Happe, Rana Hussein, Athina Zouni, Dieter Suter, Alexander Schnegg, Wolfgang Lubitz, and Edward J. Reijerse)

IES Best paper Award, 2018/2019

We are happy to announce that the inaugural “IES best paper Award” winner is Daphné Lubert-Perquel from London Centre for Nanotechnology and Department of Materials, Imperial College London, (corresponding author Christopher W.M. Kay) for the paper: Identifying triplet pathways in dilute pentacene films, “Nature Communications 9, Article number: 4222 (2018)”.

Share with friends
Font Resize